Strange words…

There are some days that I come across a word (generally a very commonly used word), and I will begin to ponder said word. Usually it is a noun, and there is nothing particularly special about the word. It isn’t one you would see on an SAT vocabulary list, and rarely is it more than three syllables. It just so happen that, at a particular moment on a particular day, I come across a word and it feels curious to me.

Generally I will say the word over and over again, usually in my head though sometimes not. If The Boy is home, I will make a comment to him about it, normally receiving a response along the lines of, “Um, okay…” (insert emoticon with eyebrow raise/head tilt/heh?) Sometimes the word just feels peculiar to me at that moment and I need to process it in some way. I wonder about its origins (not the actual etymological roots, more like why does it sound like that and who decided it would mean what it does?) and marvel at the ease in which people just say that particular word.

This morning that word is ‘hug.’

My brain…it is an interesting place to live sometimes.

 

About maggyruth

Mid-thirties, Mid-Atlantic transplant. Fiber-artist, hidden poet, health educator, student. Still trying to figure out what I want to be when I grow up. I swear sometimes. Especially when I'm mad. Deal with it. View all posts by maggyruth

One response to “Strange words…

  • karenish

    Ha ha. I have snippets of songs, phrases from books or tv or movies, and quite often random words running through my head all the time as well.

    My mom is a hobby linguist and so I feel like I have a natural affinity for language and understanding words.

    Have you ever seen them old PBS special The Story of English? http://topdocumentaryfilms.com/story-of-english/

    It’s pretty cool to see how English came into being.

Leave a Reply

