What does that MEAN?

I participate (with increasing regularity) in the Lady Blogger’s Society weekly Tea Party.  The idea is to explore blogs you might not know about while being able to put your own blog out there in hopes of gaining new readers (see Attention Seeker post.)  You’re supposed to leave a comment about what two blogs you visited and what you liked about them (or didn’t like), and you’re also supposed to leave a comment on the blog(s) you visit.

Evidently, the name of my blog is deceptive.  Much like this picture:

It's all about perspective

It’s supposed to be about tattoos.  You know, because I have the word “tattooed” in the title.

Perhaps it is simply due to my proclivity to be irrational right now, but I was kind of hurt.

I love tattoos.  I have 9 of them (8 if you listen to The Boy, but he doesn’t know what he’s talking about.)  I grew up around tattooed folks, hell I lost one of my teeth while in a tattoo parlor (I don’t know that they’d let 5 year-olds hang out in a tattoo parlor any more, but hey, that was 25+ years ago.)

So, no, my blog is not specifically about tattoos.  It’s about a tattooed goody-two shoes.  See?  “Tattooed” is used as an adjective there.  As in to describe “someone who is with tattoos.”

Do people ever think you’re supposed to be something that you’re not?

About maggyruth

Mid-thirties, Mid-Atlantic transplant. Fiber-artist, hidden poet, health educator, student. Still trying to figure out what I want to be when I grow up. I swear sometimes. Especially when I'm mad. Deal with it. View all posts by maggyruth

58 responses to “What does that MEAN?

  • Suzanne Earl

    Personally I totally get it and I think its a great name. I like reading your blog. Your a mix of goodness and snarkyness cracks me up. You dont sugar coats things. I like that. I have tattoos to. They symbolize steps in my life and each one means something to me…maybe you need to have tattoos to understand the name. Either way keep bloggin!

    • gritlysweettea

      Thanks, Suzanne! You’ve known me for years…did I ever seem like the type of person one typically thinks of as one who would have tattoos? That’s my whole point with the title. To this day people tend to be surprised when they find out I have them…

  • itchbay

    Um… my handle is “itchbay” for a reason. I like irony. I picked the name when I was going through a ‘no-more-miss-nice-gal’ phase. I don’t really want people to think I’m a bitch, but I wouldn’t mind if they thought twice about what to expect from me.

    I figured your blog title was just as it read. I can identify with the goody two shoes part, and I just figured your the kind who gets tattoos. I’m the kind who swears a lot. 🙂

  • itchbay

    Oh dear god. I typed “your” when I meant “you’re” and there’s no way to fix it! My reputation on the Internet will be ruined forever!

  • Brittany Baughman

    I saw that comment too and had to hold back the “well wth??” I guess whenever you use an adjective to describe yourself you have to live your whole life around said adjective? News to me.

    Tattoos do not define me, I define my tattoos.

  • Vikki (shehascuteshoes)

    I just found your blog via ‘The Tea Party’ ( I’m #99 – hi! ) 😉

    I’m very selective about the links I jump on. My time is precious.

    Your blog title grabbed me. I could have easily named my blog – ” The life and times of a goody too shoes with a nose piercing [and a random scar from a belly piercing that she became allergic to] ” I can relate. 🙂

    I’m subscribing 🙂

  • Heather O.

    I found you via the “Tea Party” too and I’m glad I did! I’m drawn to your honesty and your sense of humor… you remind me a bit of myself! 😉

  • Traci

    I think your blogs name is pretty clear. You are a goody two shoes and you have tattoos. Geez, some people.

    I have people do it to me all the time. I think the thing that bugs me the most is when I am sure that I’m clear and the analyzers in my family get it all wrong. It used to happen to me in church all the time too.

  • mands12

    Actually it’s not the tattoos that get me, it’s the knitting. I have known you for a long, long, long time and I still cannot put you and knitting together in my brain.

    • gritlysweettea

      Well, dear, that’s because I don’t knit that much (I’m trying, but not always succeeding.) I crochet way more.

  • Tina

    Well, people assume I’m Jewish because I have a German last name.

    Here from #commenthour, btw

  • Branson

    If it makes you feel better, I didn’t think your blog was going to be about tatoos! I like the title!

  • Bewildered Bug

    I LOVE THAT PHOTO (sorry completely ignoring your tattoos..)
    I have a similar one with my puppy…I was sorta upside down and she was looking up…gave it a really weird perspective. I really should find that photo – it was awesome…confused the crap out of people 🙂

    • gritlysweettea

      I had to take the picture when I saw what she was doing. I was sitting on the couch and she was sitting above me on a bookcase. She has this THING about hanging off things…the bed, the bookcase, my husband’s leg…

  • Kim @ Coffee Pot Chronicles

    Visiting from Comment Hour.

    We have something in common: I’m tattooed as well but also a bit of a goody two shoes. Only 1 tat…for now. I am determined to get a second tat for my 31st…er, second 29th birthday.

    Pleasure to meet you via Twitter and the awesome ladies of SITS.

    • gritlysweettea

      I had all of the ones I have before I was 25 (I think…I’ve lost track.) I’m looking forward to getting more, but probably not for awhile (darn those good tattoos costing good money! I have a lot of money invested in my skin!)

  • Ginger

    Hmm…I never would have thought this was a blog strictly about tatoos. Maybe you need to have a disclaimer, lol. Cute blog!

    #CommentHour

    Ginger
    Literally Inspired

  • Ryan (The Woven Moments)

    I love the name of your blog! Happy to have found you through #commenthour. I certainly won’t be forgetting you anytime soon. 🙂

    I get to be ALL of my labels: mom, motorcycle rider, project manager, writer, feminist.

    Great post! I’ll be back for sure!

    • gritlysweettea

      Love that.

      Yay feminists! (I’m thinking about adding a Women & Gender studies minor to the craziness that is my school life…don’t tell my husband, I might never graduate.)

  • Sarah

    I’ve often wondered if I should ASK people what they think of me….but I know one or two friends who read my blog who would answer too much 🙂

  • Seasoned Air Force Spouse

    I think I’m going to like you blog with my tattoo sometime goody two shoe self. 🙂 #commenthour

  • myloverswife

    Seems clear to me…
    BTW – I’ve stared at the picture of the cat and I don’t see the deception…must work!

    • gritlysweettea

      Heh…

      It was actually taken from the vantage point of me looking up at the cat. I thought it was fun at the time…sometimes my own humor escapes me.

  • Lindsey

    I am so addicted to tattoos! My family hates them but I keep getting more!

    • gritlysweettea

      I got a comment once from my grandmother-in-law…”Don’t you just hate yourself for getting those?”

      Um, nope.

      Other than that, my family is ok with them (and a number of my family members have them.) They really don’t get much say in the matter.

  • breakfasttobed

    HA! love the blog name!! I too, am tattooed, not SUCH a goody two shoes, but I have my moments! Happy #Commenthour!!!

    • gritlysweettea

      I’m only a goody two shoes in that people are startled when they find out I have tattoos. Guess I don’t seem the ‘type’ (not that I think there is a ‘type’ of person who has tattoos…other than lovely persons.)

  • Ixy

    I join the LBS tea party pretty regularly too and wondering what happened? Did someone not like the name of your blog? How ridiculous! My blog’s called Illusion and it’s not about magic tricks. I don’t see the problem. Then again, I often feel misunderstood too, so maybe I’m not the best person to be talking about this 🙂

    • gritlysweettea

      Well, it was nothing bad, but I’ve been living in a state of slight irrationality of late. Someone just thought my blog was going to be all about tattoos and was disappointed that it wasn’t. It made it sound like she didn’t like it because it wasn’t what she was expecting, and I was a sad panda.

      My logical mind knows it’s no biggie. However, my delusional mind seems to be in charge right now. 😉

  • Trish

    I love the name of your blog! Eff her! #commenthour

  • Kerri

    Oh, I totally get the misconception thing all the time. Well I am definitely a self proclaimed Maven of Social Media, it’s not all I talk about, to me, that would be boring and no fun. 🙂 I like to dabble too.

    Oh, and I have no tattoos.

  • MamaS

    For what it’s worth, I like the name. And you’re totally using “tattooed” in a grammatically correct way. Too bad other people’s lack of reading/understanding skills make them think your blog is something it’s not.

    Looking forward to reading more. #commenthour

  • 2commentaristas

    Um? Since when are you required to be a one-dimensional person that ONLY talks about tattoos on your blog? You obviously have a life outside of the ink on your body, and people should realize that. If they want to know exclusively about tattoos, then I say they can go to Wikipedia and look it up and get their fill that way.

    Whew! Getting a bit heated on your behalf there…

    visiting from #commenthour

  • Eileen

    Never been drawn to tattoos or seeing them on others and wonder why. Here because of comment hour and can see it is because you like them. Just you can’t take them off in occasions where they might be distracting or whatever but maybe you never see or feel that way. So be it.
    Glad you enjoy them and find your tribe that enjoys them too.

    • gritlysweettea

      That’s ok. Not everyone has to like or ‘get’ what everyone else does. The world would be a boring place.

      PS…The only person who finds my tattoos distracting is my grandmother-in-law.

  • Lizzie

    I’ve tried to steer away from pigeon holing my blog, but a lot of people recommend it. My blog is about anything I want it to be about on that particular day!

    But I wasn’t confused by your blog name, I think it’s cute!! 🙂

  • Heidi D.

    Do I ever think I’m supposed to be something I’m not? I LIVE there.

  • Mimzy Wimzy

    Having 26 tattoos myself, I get it!
    #CommentHour

  • Nicole Rivera

    When I saw your title last night (yes I am VERY LATE) in #commenthour I thought it was just plain brilliant. I totally got it and I think it said so much about who YOU were and what your blog would be about. I didn’t think it had anything to do with tattoos, in fact, I believe the title says, “Erase everything you ASSUME (or society would like you to assume) about a person when you hear they have tattoos and understand that I am a goody two shoes WITH tattoos. And now what does THAT make you think about me?”
    The tattoos are a sign of your free spirit and individuality and paired with your “goody two shoes”, I think that makes for a sincere person who wears her heart (perhaps literally) on her sleeve. I also think it indicates that you like to shock people in some way – I’m just not sure if it is with the tattoos or with the goody two shoes part 😉

  • Micha

    I think you have a creative and perfectly descriptive blog name. I don’t think it is deceptive at all. Visiting from #CommentHour

  • Jen

    Stopping in from the Tea Party and may I just say that it was the “life and times” portion of your blog name that made me decide to click it, and not the tatooed portion… and I was happy to see that the “life and times” thing worked out just fine 🙂

  • Classic NYer

    Interestingly enough, I had no illusions that this blog was supposed to be about tattoos. I thought that was just a cute way of describing yourself.

    Stopping in from the LBS tea party. 🙂

Leave a Reply

