I screwed up “Happy Birthday”…

Who does that?

Evidently, I do.

I decided to audition for one of the four choirs at school yesterday.  I figured my voice is much easier to schlep around, as opposed to my viola.  Auditions were pretty simple…they checked for range (E3-F5…Though I think I could have gone both higher and lower, that was sufficient to confirm that I am, indeed, an alto), tonal matching (for a musician, I’m horrible at auditory memory) and so on.

Then they asked me to sing “Happy Birthday.”

I hate that song.  My family can attest to that.  I used to hide under the table at birthday parties (any, not just mine) when it was sung.  It really makes me cringe.  Why, I’m not sure.  But I was none to thrilled about the whole thing.  Needless to say, it’s a song known by most, so it’s easy to use for comparison purposes.

And I screwed it up.

I sang the second line the same as the first (a little bit louder and a little bit worse! I kid…sort of.)  I stopped and looked at the professor and just started laughing at myself for being so stupid.  I sang it again, properly, but still.  I was a bit embarrassed by the whole thing.

I should find out today if I made any of the choirs.  The only one that fits into my schedule is Voorhees, which is an all female chorus.  Hooray for extra-curricular activities!

Oh, and because I’m not enough of a joiner, I’ve been asked to blog for the Rutger’s student blog as a representative of the non-traditional student set.  So, I get to put my thoughts about school out there for a whole bunch of people to see.  Yay, me!

About maggyruth

Mid-thirties, Mid-Atlantic transplant. Fiber-artist, hidden poet, health educator, student. Still trying to figure out what I want to be when I grow up. I swear sometimes. Especially when I'm mad. Deal with it. View all posts by maggyruth

3 responses to “I screwed up “Happy Birthday”…

  • Sarah Thomas

    Because a whole bunch of people don’t see this. Stop worrying. You will be fine. Thanks to you I am seriously thinking that I would like to start a blog that I know no one but you will read.

  • Sarah Thomas

    I think I will set it up next week if I have some time. I have been thinking about it a lot since Bill has been gone so much.

Leave a Reply

