Challenge me this…

One of the blogs I regularly read is written by the loverly Salt, someone who I made the acquaintance of on TK.  I guess you could say I’m a cyber stalker of sorts, as is anyone who follows someone’s blog and twitter and rarely actually communicates with the person in real life.  But, I think she’s funny, so stalk I shall, and since I wish her no harm, I really see no issue with it (I mean, we even share a favorite author…none other than the fantastic Jen Lancaster, she of “Such a Pretty Fat” and “My Fair Lazy” and her wildly popular blog, Jennsylvania.)

One of Salt’s latest posts is that of a challenge, and I thought, since I have a plethora of pictures and am forever working on the second part of the challenge (see below), I would participate.

What is this challenge, you ask?  It’s quite simple, really.

  1. Post 5 pictures you love and say why
  2. Tell 5 things I like about myself

Without further adieu, here are the pictures…chosen from the bazillion I seem to have on my computer:

Elkhart Lake Trialthon-2007:  This picture was taken after I completed my very first triathlon.  I was so darn proud of myself. (BTW, I’m not short.  I’m 6’1″ tall.  The guy standing behind me?  7’1″ or something crazy like that.  Seriously.  I remember laughing to myself when he said to me, “You’re not that tall, maybe 6’1″, 6’2″, right?”  Bwahahaha!!!)

St. Paul, MN, August 2008: I was in St. Paul for an orientation session as I had decided to go back to school to work towards my bachelors degree.  I was wandering around in the early evening after dinner, taking pictures of various flowers and such.  I thought this one turned out particularly awesome (and inspired me to continue to take pictures of things/shapes/etc, I found interesting.) Of note, whilst walking around, I also spied statues of various Peanuts characters around downtown.  I thought that was quite cool.

Pleasant Prairie Triathlon, August 2008:  This is probably one of the best tri pictures of me out there.  I love the stillness of it.  It’s right before the swim, I belief a few waves before mine, and I was just waiting and breathing.  Despite all the noise and commotion around me, I always try my best  to just be calm.  It helps me a lot during the OWS.

My old apartment, October 2009: My then boyfriend, now husband, had flown in for my 30th birthday.  He’d decided he wanted to make me a birthday cake for the party I was having.  The cake tasted fantastic, despite the fact that the middle layer of red velvet seemed determined to crumble into oblivion.  I just think this picture is ridiculously sweet, as is my husband.

Oahu, Hawaii, May 2010:  We’d just gotten married and I was hungry for breakfast (someone (ahem, me) had to be up and to the wedding place at 4 in the morning for hair and makeup.)  Thankfully (or not) there was a McDonald’s just up the road from the location of our wedding.  I had my matron of honor snap this picture. It’s become one of my favorites.

And now, for something different…

Part 2: Five things I like about me.

  1. I think I’m funny.  And, if I’m not mistaken, others do as well.  Either that or I just scare them so much that they nervously laugh around me all the time, perpetuating the thought in my brain that I am, indeed, humorous.
  2. I have smarts.  Seriously. Granted, I’m not nearly as smart as my husband, but I can generally hold my own in a game of Trivial Pursuit.
  3. My eyes.  The boy says they are blue, and he’s right, sometimes they are.  But most of the time they aren’t.  I call them gray.  They are those fantastic chameleon eyes, sometimes referred to as witch eyes.  I have that funny goldish-brown thing going on around the center of the irises.  It’s kind of cool.
  4. I’m observant (usually.) It’s a subconscious habit to just watch other people and learn from their behaviour.  It’s given me plenty of opportunities to learn from their mistakes or successes, and apply them to my own life.
  5. I give decent advice, or so I’ve been told.  I think it has a lot to do with #4, but really I just say what seems to make sense at the time.

So, there you go.  Challenge completed.  I’m supposed to pass this on to 5 other people, but I really don’t know 5 other bloggers who read my blogs, so, if you are one, feel free to go for it!  It’s kind of fun.

About maggyruth

Mid-thirties, Mid-Atlantic transplant. Fiber-artist, hidden poet, health educator, student. Still trying to figure out what I want to be when I grow up. I swear sometimes. Especially when I'm mad. Deal with it. View all posts by maggyruth

4 responses to “Challenge me this…

  • Kat

    I read it. I love the perspectives on the photos. Great choices.

  • MommaBlogger

    Is this where I admit that I only laugh nervously to help perpetuate the idea that you think you’re funny? :ducks and runs for cover: Lol, I think you’re funny, and I think all of those things are true 😀 And I think that’s great that you look short in the first picture, compared to all the tall guys around you, it really does make you seem much shorter than you are 🙂 ❤

  • Christine

    The pic of you and hubs is beautiful! Yeah, maybe it was taken in McD’s, but look at you two! Love it.
    It’s my first time here visiting..so hiya! I came over from Salt’s linky:)

Leave a Reply

