I have crop circles on my back…

Not really, but it does look bizarre.

I had cupping done yesterday.

It’s an interesting sensation, to say the least, and at this moment in time, I look like I have 8 perfectly round hickeys going up and down my back.

I’m a firm believer in alternative and holistic medicine. If I can avoid taking medication, I’m going to.  I started seeing an acupuncturist (C) a couple of weeks ago in hopes of relieving some of the considerable stress that I’m currently feeling, along with some other issues that have popped up in the mean time, that may or may not be resultant of said stress.  I ♥ her..I think she’s fabulous, and I will miss her when I move.

While we’ve been working together, we’ve discussed various issues that I may have, one of which is fibromyalgia.  My mother has it, my grandmother has it, and though I’ve suspected that I may have symptoms for quite some time, I basically refuse to be officially diagnosed.  However, that doesn’t mean I shouldn’t look into ways that will help relieve the constant feeling of fatigue and the random pain I have.  I’ve had it for years, and have always said I’m too young to have to deal with this crap.  My weight loss has helped considerably, but having to worry about throwing out your back or hips simply by opening the door the wrong way is a gigantic pain in the ass.

So, with the discussion I’ve had with C, and with my mother (her case is quite bad…the best thing she’s done for it is move to AZ…no meds have ever helped), I’ve decided that, while I still refuse to be officially diagnosed, I will take into consideration various things that I might do to help alleviate some of my issues.  I want to continue seeing an acupuncturist once I move, and I’m going to continue to work on my diet (which right now has not been great, though I’m working on the wheat and dairy…damn that love of cheese.)  Since fibromyalgia really isn’t understood (it’s not a disease, it’s a syndrome, and each person who has it can have completely different reactions compared to the next person in line), a lot of the treatment is really trial and error.  So, we’ll go with it and see how it goes.

About maggyruth

Mid-thirties, Mid-Atlantic transplant. Fiber-artist, hidden poet, health educator, student. Still trying to figure out what I want to be when I grow up. I swear sometimes. Especially when I'm mad. Deal with it. View all posts by maggyruth

Leave a Reply

