I’m not bitter…no, really!

Ok, so maybe I am a little.

But I’ve been trying not to be…honest!

Here’s the thing…I’m super excited to have been accepted to Rutgers.  The sucky part is that, due to my mounds of college credit, there was no way I could get them to consider me as a first year…which is really what I am, considering the program I want to get into (PharmD, for those of you who didn’t know.)  I have some science background, but it primarily deals in human anatomy and physiology, not the biology and chemistry I would need to be considered an appropriate transfer student (they want transfer students ready to come in raring to go in the 1st professional year.)  Oh, and let’s not talk about math.  I haven’t taken a math class other than statistics (and I wouldn’t consider that a math class, really) in over 15 years (oof).  I’ll need to take calculus.  Didn’t get that far in high school (by choice…I could have taken it my senior year of high school but decided to take music theory.  Lot of good that’s doing me, hmm?)

But what’s with being bitter?

Well, it’s going onto Go Rutgers and seeing all the kids (soon to be high school grads) that have been accepted into the PharmD program…they get to get in at the ground and move up, and I’m stuck trying to fight my way in after a couple of years of prereqs.  It’s aggravating because I wish I’d thought of something like that when I was in high school.  It’s aggravating because I think I could have gotten into something like that out of high school.  I’m aggravated because I felt so limited in my options after high school.

I can’t say that I haven’t had a good run in my current career path.  I’m pretty good at what I do, and at this moment, I actually like it, kind of.  But I don’t see it as something I’ll do for the rest of my life.

It just makes me sad to see these young people and wish.  But, shoulda coulda woulda won’t get you anywhere.  Hard work, diligence…that will get me there.

About maggyruth

Mid-thirties, Mid-Atlantic transplant. Fiber-artist, hidden poet, health educator, student. Still trying to figure out what I want to be when I grow up. I swear sometimes. Especially when I'm mad. Deal with it. View all posts by maggyruth

2 responses to “I’m not bitter…no, really!

  • angela errera

    Hey I’m with the Lady Bloggers Society and just wanted to say nice site. I’m new to blogging, so please take a look around my site. Thanks and Good luck!
    Angela

  • anNEonymous franke

    Hi, I found you on Lady Blogger’s tea party. I am getting to that point in my life where I am really realizing that I am not a kid anymore and EVERY door and avenue is not still open to me, which is ass.

    Screw those punk kids! Good luck at Rutgers 🙂

Leave a Reply

